Tags

, , ,

0826220828

Yes, it does. In more ways than one.

This morning, I had my coffee the same

way again, and am getting used to the taste.

I will alter it again tomorrow. I had class this

morning, so was barely able to get myself

ready, as well as the boys, but did remember

to pack my Atkins Bar, a bottled water, and

grab my coffee, getting on the road by 6:30 a.m.

Again, I’m eating another cup of yogurt, and feeling OK. As I drink my coffee, I inhale, swallow, and thank Creator for the sunrise, my day, the fact that all of my homework is done, that my kids got up and are on the bus.

At my 9 o’clock break, I am drinking my water, and eating my Atkins Bar. After class at 10:30, I’m hungry again, and know I will be in my next class from 11 am to 1:50. I had forgotten to pack a lunch. I’m walking around in the book store, doing my best to discern what in the world I can eat as I scan the rows of honey buns, candy bars, sweets, potato chips, nuts, and sundry other items. Everything has gluten and is terrible for you. Sigh. I settle on a Hershey’s milk chocolate bar with almonds, because I know that is gluten-free, as well as having the protein and cancer-preventing power of almonds. I also grab a small bag of pork rinds, which have no gluten, and have protein. Again, I am not eating bread, so this is supposed to balance out. These have about 4 grams of fat, as well as 9 grams of protein, and no trans fat. I buy another bottle of water.

On the way to class, I eat the Hershey’s bar, and during the break in the afternoon, I eat half of the bag of pork rinds. I eat slowly, giving each time to dissolve in my mouth, and allow myself to feel when I need to stop, instead of bulldozing my way through the bag.

When I get home, I have about 4 ounces of Bolthouse Farms Carrot Juice. I know carrots are a double edged sword, because they are so starchy, and rate almost a 90 on the glycemic scale when cooked. The juice being raw, more or less, cuts that way in half. Carrots are packed with beta-carotene and other nutrients, so I want to utilize them, just in moderation.

After dinner this evening, I sat down with my NutriBase Complete Book of Food Counts and began to put all of this together.

A key component to losing weight when one is obese is to create a food diary for about three days, to get an idea of your average daily consumption. Leave nothing out. Then, you log how much you exercised or burned, as well.

Then you can translate this into a realistic formula to get weekly results. For example, after writing everything down for three days, let’s say you tend to end up eating around 3,000 calories a day, but you don’t exercise daily, and you have over 45 grams of fat a day.

Instead of beating yourself up, understand that you have to burn 3,500 calories for every pound lost. This means you will need to do a combination that will mean taking about less calories, as well as adding more exercise to each day, so that 500 calories a day are lost. That’s just to lose one pound a week. Does that mean I will start restricting my food in half, counting to make sure I only ingest 1,500 calories a day?

No.

That is sure failure. I know I need to start small, so I won’t be discouraged. I want to cut 500 calories a day, and add 30 minutes of a brisk HIIT workout and Pilates to my daily routine. My goal is an 1,800 calorie diet, but I know it will take about two weeks to get there, with fat grams around 20.

(It is crucial to understand here that we have to go easy. Being obese came from years, even decades, of trauma, abuse and survival. You can be your biggest fan, or your worst enemy. I understand that this is starting over, a last chance to make it, as my health isn’t getting any better.)

Nutrition Facts are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, and suggest total fat to be less than 65, with protein around 50 grams daily. Cholesterol and sodium must be considered, but most of my food isn’t high in these. However,  I will check on it occasionally to be sure.

Let’s look at what I ingested today…

6 ounces of Bolthouse Farm Carrot juice            70 cal, 1 g protein, 1 gram of fiber

10 ounces of Minute Maid (fake) lemonade       120 cal,

16 ounces of coffee, 2 TBL. creamer, 3 t. sugar         3 g fat, and about 90 cal

I serving cup of yogurt,                                        130 cal, 11 g protein

Hershey’s chocolate bar/almonds                         210 cal, 4 g protein, 14 g fat

Zone Perfect Dark Choc Almond bar                     190 cal, 12 g protein, 6 g fat

Atkins Shake                                                            160 cal, 15 g protein, 9 g fat

7 oz. sirloin steak                                                    @ 222 cal, 48 g protein, 3.6 g fat

2 TBL. Italian dressing                                             80 cal, 7 g of fat

(big change from Ranch, it doubles)

Salad calories, I don’t worry about, unless there’s a great deal of cheese, which there was maybe an ounce of my goat cheese on it tonight.

1/2 cup canned baked beans                                   140 cal, 1 gram of fat, 5 g fiber

The protein consumption is my main concern, because of the liver’s processing capacity. Let’s see  – 145 g – Holy crap!   See why meal planning is so crucial?

Calories was 1,405 Fiber 8 grams, and fat 46.1

Not near enough fiber, and way too much protein but calories and fat were OK for a first day. It was definitely an eye opener.

Oh, and I walked a little over a mile on campus, briskly moving, not lollygagging, so at least I wasn’t sitting at the computer or desk all day.

I am also doing Super Cleanse, two tabs in the am. and one in the mid afternoon. I do a week or two cleanse every season, and as this is almost fall, is the perfect time to help flush toxins, and stimulate the cleaning of the bowels. Some people can have as much as 15 pounds of trapped, old waste in a digestive tract that has not been cleansed.

OK. Let’s start again tomorrow…

