Using lavender as another example, I will teach you how to truly compare cost versus quality, and considerations for use.

Here is how to look at oils when truly price comparing.

1. read what the labels are saying, verses what is NOT being stated.

I use NOW essential oil for non-food purposes, especially around the kitchen sink. You can find this brand at most health food stores. It is labeled as 100%, steam distilled, but no mention is made to it being organic nor food grade. Therefore, you can assume it is not. This will definitely alter how you can use it.

Looking at the home store for NOW, you will see some variety. http://shop.nowfoods.com/k/search?q=lavender They type I have, mentioned above, sells for $10.00. If I look a little more, I will see that the same one ounce bottle, labeled ‘certified organic’ sells for twice as much, $19.00. See the difference already? Yet, it does not  mention being food grade nor is it labeled ‘therapeutic’. If we go to the Young’s Living site, and do the same comparison, you will find a complete difference.

The highest quality is their St. Marie’s, which they show can be taken internally. They have a wonderfullavender write up on this precious oil. It’s price is $51, but you would never have to doubt its usage, and would be wonderful for many ailments, skin conditions, nervous issues, etc. http://www.youngliving.com/en_US/products/essential-oils/singles/st-maries-lavender-essential-oil  It is even listed as kosher. Note, too, that 1 oz. will last easily three months.

For Thieves, I don’t even purchase that anywhere else, as I take this internally to aid on the first sign of winter sickness, tooth abcess or sickness in any of my livestock or pets. It has saved chickens last winter when some started to get a flu-like sickness. I will add three drops to  6 oz. of juice and give to my boys if they come home and say their friends or schoolmates went home sick, and I will apply topically to any wounds. I would definitely never be without it.

I have seen a home-made version for sale at a local shop for $10. but I would never ingest it, as it is obvious by the cost that the quality is not there. I do use it around the sink, or to disinfect my hands if I’ve been handling a sick animal, but look mainly to Young’s for this special product. It is quite pungent, and can be toxic if not made correctly, with the best of ingredients. Also, when you buy from a distributor then you get a little discount, which is always nice, and it helps someone else, too. Thieves from Young’s cost about $44. I have had my bottle about five months now, as it is only used when there is sickness in the house or on the farm. But, when there is a need for it, the use is priceless.

The last thing I’d like to mention is to be compare the volume of your product. Going back to the NOW site, the same grade of lavender costs $10.00 for one ounce, but $31.99 for four ounces. So, this is definitely a better bargain, and I would definitely buy the larger one to keep by the sink or add to the diffuser to help keep the boys calm, understanding that it is not food grade or therapeutic.

I did look at the LorAnn website, which sells additives for cooking, and states that all of their flavorings are organic and food grade, which a friend on facebook mentioned, http://lorannoils.com/. I have not personally checked it out, but plan to do so, as the wording suggests it is top quality.For example, their orange oil, one ounce, sells for $5.50, and says it is good for food or aromatherapy, is kosher and therapeutic.  I’d love to see what you think!

