Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Be brave, try something 'new' for max benefit - cook old favorites!

Be brave, try something ‘new’ for max benefit – cook old favorites! (Stone ground yellow grits with cheese)

Finding blessing in your struggles is easier than one might think.

Money may be harder to come by, ‘things’ may be a strain to purchase, yet it is crucial to bless that which we DO have, continuing those blessings and the more to come.

One example of this is in the cooking ceremony, and something like old-fashioned cheese grits is the prefect way to send love to yourself and those in your household.

Old fashioned, stone ground flours/meals are a highly vibrant addition to the overworked American diet.

For my breakfast this morning, as snow whirls around and wind rattles the tin-roof barn, I set aside fifteen minutes to use this coarse, yellow corn stone ground grits from a little mill in NC from 1896.

I imagine the stone turning, the gears cranking, dust motes dancing between sun stripes and shadow in the old mills I’ve visited in my past, in both NC, MD and PA. They are amazing structures; the old cranks, belts and gears humming from water to wheel, while I stand over the little simmering pot of my own four serving breakfast.

Shaking my Himalayan salt through the steam, cutting a pat of butter to slide around between white and yellow grains, I know I am sharing love and energy with all the other ‘simple’ folks who bought and are buying these products since the 1800’s, or even before, depending on which mill you order from.

I give thanks for whatever’s on my mind at this moment; asking for blessings for my family, thinking warm, loving thoughts for those whose bellies will be warmed by this gentle respite from over due bills, school tests, bullies in the halls, job searching…

In  this moment it is me, Creator, and the energy of our ancient friend corn who has fed our ancestors , since around 7,500 BC. A little leaf of bay adds to the salt, butter, and sprinkling of ground black peppercorns. 1/4 c. grits per 1 c. of water, and grated cheese to taste (we like to ‘taste’, so 1/2c. sharp cheese at the end of cooking 3/4c grits).

I hold the little steaming bowl in my hands, letting the warmth caress my face, and just give thanks to a loving Creator, and send love outwards to those that may need it, wherever they live, whatever their situation.

Take a little time, and you can find a mill (grist and/or roller) in your own area to patron. Children of all ages are fascinated by the old technology, and the history, as well. It is well worth the drive to visit one for the day.

Two brands that I live by, depending on what I can afford:

http://www.boonvillemill.com/The-Store.html

or the organic http://www.bobsredmill.com/

However you decide to try it, the after effects of this ‘little’ daily ceremony in your meals may surprise you.